top of page
  • artquest

Art Commission for a Mississippi Home

Updated: Apr 8, 2021

This story is a case of a couples diverse tastes in visual art. Shannon is drawn to and loves abstract and contemporary art while Jason's tastes are much more conservative. It all began when Shannon purchased a work of art from a local gallery and bought it home on approval. Excited about her purchase, she placed it above the mantle and could hardly wait for her husband to see it! His response was not the one she expected. All he could see was a weirdly shaped soccer player. While he loved soccer, he did not love the painting and back it went to the gallery. That is where I entered the picture for an artistic consultation.


Mississippi Home Art Commission

Above: P. Hope Brannon, Genesis, Acrylic on Canvas, 48" x 72"


"Commission pieces are such a rewarding process because they allow me to work directly with clients to create a custom piece for their space and preference." Hope Brannon


After meeting with Shannon and learning more about her tastes and those of her husband, as well as the colors of their home, and the style of their home and its furnishings; it became apparent that we needed to create a work that would bridge the gap between this couples diverse tastes in visual art. And so, we began this journey together...


P. Hope Brannon, Sedimentary Rocks, Acrylic on Canvas, 48" x 72"


The original painting that Shannon purchased was simply too small for the tall ceilings and large walls of her home and the colors of original painting (while beautiful) were simply too harsh for the space and style of the home. In order for it to be a perfect fit, we enlarged the size of the new work and decided on a color palette that was a bit softer. We also recognized that while the commission needed to be abstract in nature, it also needed to have some pleasingly recognizable references for Jason.


Back in the studio, I first created "Genesis", as a work in my Atmospheric Abstractions Series focusing more on color, movement and sensory feeling. Once completed, I decided to create a second work "Sedimentary Rocks" that focused more distinctly on shape, form and a monochrome palette. Along this journey Shannon and I kept in touch via texts and photos. I greatly appreciated her thoughts and feedback!


Once the works were completed and framed, Shannon, along with Jason's mother drove over to select the painting that would suit their tastes, style and home best. See loved them both and off they went to their new home in Mississippi, along with the documentation for each work. "Genesis" now resides peacefully above the mantle in her family's living room and "Sedimentary Rocks" enhances the earthy tones and warmth of their master suite.

If you would like to commission a painting, please go to my contact page and drop me a line with your contact information. I look forward to embarking on an art journey with you!





_______________________________________________________________________

After I first published this post, Shannon saw it and sent me a lovely testimonial! So I have updated this post with her comments. Thank you so much for the kind words Shannon! It was a wonderful experience to take this journey with you.


When I decided to commission a piece of art for above our mantle, I didn’t know how unprepared I was for all that I needed to know to make the best choices for the space. I also didn’t know how difficult it would be to explain my vision of what I wanted to someone else. This led me to commissioning and receiving two large pieces of art that were very different from what I imagined being in my house. I tried to make them work, but something was wrong, and I am thankful the artist understood and offered a refund. The process made me frustrated because I couldn’t put my finger on what went wrong when I tried to describe clearly my idea of what type/feel/look of art I wanted in that space.


I am so happy that by chance, Hope Brannon overheard me describing my woes of my most recent “house-fail”. Hope asked me to show her the two paintings that didn’t work out and to also explain what I wanted. She heard me. She was able transfer my words into the style of art that visually gives feeling to the words I was saying.


Hope also asked to look at the space where my art would go. She was able to determine that the “large” art I was commissioning, actually wasn’t large enough for that space. She asked for measurements and then suggested the painting to be wider and taller. She was right. Once the piece she painted was in the spot, I realized the size affected the look just as much as the style/colors/tone of the painting.


I appreciate that Hope didn’t expect me to have all the answers to what I needed or wanted. I appreciate that she wanted to be part of the whole process, the placement and design. I loved how it was a collaborative effort. She would facetime me occasionally to ask me questions or to keep me in the loop. She ended up painting two pieces, each equally sized, but both very different. I only had to choose one (or none, she would have painted a new one if I didn’t like either). But, I couldn’t choose just one. I had to have both. I am thankful I had been asking for birthday and Christmas money to put towards original art so I could buy both!


There hasn’t been a day go by that I haven’t enjoyed looking at my paintings or that I have second guessed my own choices.


When I go into the other artist’s studio and see the paintings that didn’t work out for the first commission, I like those as well, but I am learning that liking a painting isn’t the same thing as loving the right one in the right place, all the time.


Thank you Hope for sharing your talent and making yourself so accessible.


Shannon Parham

Jackson, MS



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page